I am my mother.

This past weekend was crazy! I had to go with my mom to urgent care on Saturday and ended up admitting her to the hospital. I stayed the night with her on Saturday, and she was released on Sunday. She was diagnosed with gastritis, an irritation of the stomach lining. We first thought this was caused by her diet, which is fast food at least 3-4 times per week. In fact,  I even had a conversation with the doctor in hopes that he would tell her that she can’t eat fast food anymore. Anyways, I had a big Ah-ha moment.

Try to follow along…I had a great weigh -in, well I lost .6 and was completely surprised by that because although I tracked I over indulged a bit actually twice. Anyways, that got me thinking yes I can do this and my motivation kicked in.   I had plans Sat night for a gf 40th bday adn was totally looking forward to it! After WW, I went to the gym and then as I was on my way home, my mom called me…see above. I had to cancel my plans 😦  I was bummed but what could I do. My gf and I signed up for the first WW Focus event on sunday, so of course I wsa nervous about not beign able to make it BUT I knew that I NEEDED this and there was no way I was going to miss it. And I didn’t. 🙂 I made my ME time work.

This is where it gets good… I mentioned that my mom’s diet is no bueno.  My mom treats herself to fast food pretty often I’m thinking because she is super busy working fulltime and caring for my grandmother who has alzheimers and feels like she deserves it. I can now totally relate! I was driving to my meeting thinking about what I was going to have for lunch and thinking that I deserve to eat a bad meal/high point meal because I’m stressed and had to take care of my mom over the weekend – WHAT!? I literally felt how my mom must feel when she get stressed and wants to find comfort in food for even a few minutes. So, did I give in? NOPE! Proud moment on so many levels.

I’m going away this weekend to Temecula – wine country I will try my best to stay on track.  Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

